Schedule Your Service Now!

Schedule Your Service Now!

The Department of Energy has announced that by the end of 2023, all residential HVAC systems must meet new minimum energy efficiency standards. These changes are designed to reduce energy consumption and potentially save homeowners money on their energy bills. The new regulations will affect both existing and new hvac systems, with the goal of reducing emissions and improving air quality.

Specifically, the regulations require that all residential HVAC systems have a Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER) rating of at least 14. SEER is a measure of how efficient an air conditioning system is in converting electricity into cooling power over an entire season. This rating must be met regardless of region or climate, so homeowners should check their current system’s SEER rating to ensure compliance.

In addition, these regulations may also require some homeowners to upgrade their existing systems to meet the minimum efficiency requirements. Homeowners should consult with a qualified technician to determine if their current system needs to be upgraded in order for it to comply with the new regulations.

What are the new 2023 HVAC regulations?

The new 2023 HVAC regulations require all residential air conditioners and heat pumps to have a seasonal energy efficiency ratio (SEER) of 14 or higher. This means that the units must be at least 14% more efficient than the current minimum SEER rating of 13. The new regulations also set minimum standards for heating efficiency, as well as air conditioner and heat pump capacity and fan power.

Who is setting these new standards?

The Department of Energy (DOE) is responsible for setting the new standards, which are based on recommendations from industry experts and energy efficiency advocates. The goal is to reduce energy consumption in homes by increasing the efficiency of HVAC systems.

What is SEER, and how does it impact HVAC systems?

SEER stands for seasonal energy efficiency ratio, and it measures how efficiently an air conditioner or heat pump operates over a cooling season. The higher the SEER rating, the more efficient the unit will be, meaning that it will use less energy to cool your home while still providing adequate comfort levels.

What efficiency level is recommended for my region?

The DOE has established different efficiency levels based on geographic location. In general, homeowners in hot climates should look for air conditioners and heat pumps with higher SEER ratings (at least 16), while those in cooler climates can opt for lower ratings (around 14). It’s important to remember that even if you live in a cooler climate, investing in a high-efficiency system can help you save money on energy bills over time.

Do I need to upgrade my current system?

It depends on your current system’s efficiency rating and age. If your current system has a SEER rating below 14 or is more than 10 years old, it may be time to upgrade to one that meets the new standards. Additionally, if you’re experiencing frequent breakdowns or high energy bills, upgrading may be a good option as well.


The 2023 HVAC regulations will have a major impact on homeowners and the industry. It is important to be aware of what these regulations are, who is setting them, and how they will affect your current system. SEER ratings are an important factor in determining the efficiency level of your HVAC system, and it is important to research what rating is recommended for your region. Homeowners should also consider whether or not they need to upgrade their current systems in order to meet the new standards set by the government. With this information, homeowners can make informed decisions about their HVAC systems that will help them save money and energy in the long run.